Lions XV fans want Warren Gatland named on Wednesday


The Lions will officially reveal their starting XV to face South Africa tomorrow, but you voted in the thousands telling head coach Warren Gatland what he should do.

A WalesOnline poll revealed a formidable squad with some surprise omissions ahead of tomorrow’s big announcement.

At the back, Liam Williams – it’s unclear whether the Welshman will be fit enough to compete this weekend – edged Scotland’s Stuart Hogg in the fan vote, with Josh Adams securing a large majority on one of the wings. The other wing, however, was the team’s most contested place, with Anthony Watson on the verge of getting the green light ahead of Duhan van der Merwe.

READ MORE: Why South Africa just quit the “Bomb Squad” and left its best front row on the bench

READ MORE: The selection of tests will be emotional after my mother dies, anyway – Dan Biggar

In midfield, Elliot Daly, considered an underdog ahead of the tour, has made his way to the outside center after a strong performance in recent weeks. He joins forces with Robbie Henshaw, who has been very popular from the very beginning.

The most overwhelming majority came in the opening half, where Dan Biggar was the unanimous choice over Owen Farrell and Marcus Smith.

At the scrum-half, Conor Murray was left out on your side, although he took over from Alun captain Wyn Jones earlier in the tour. Instead, Scot Ali Price, who had a great tour, was selected.

Up front, the popular Wyn Jones and Tadhg Furlong accessories have been selected. No surprises there. However, in hooker, Ken Owens was left out with Luke Cowan-Dickie preferred.

Alun Wyn Jones, having completed a miraculous recovery from a dislocated shoulder, is directly in your Test side, partnering with Maro Itoje on lock.

Meanwhile, the back row looks formidable with Taulupe Faletau the overwhelming choice at No.8 and flankers Tom Curry and Tadhg Beirne getting the go-ahead.

Meanwhile, ahead of tomorrow’s official announcement, The Times reports that Welsh duo Faletau and Adams should be left out of the 23 altogether.

Anyway, here is the team you want to be chosen tomorrow …

The supporters’ team against South Africa: Liam Williams; Anthony Watson, Elliot Daly, Robbie Henshaw, Josh Adams; Dan Biggar, Ali Price; Wyn Jones, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tadhg Furlong; Maro Itoje, Alun Wyn Jones; Tadhg Beirne, Tom Curry, Taulupe Faletau.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.