Disney Plus gives Marvel movies a big IMAX upgrade


As Eternals landed in theaters, Disney is about to release Shang-Chi online at Disney plus. It happens this Friday when Disney also hosts its special Disney Plus Day event to celebrate the streaming service’s second anniversary. Disney will be making various announcements about upcoming projects, including Marvel content. And Disney has another big surprise for Marvel fans. You can stream multiple MCU movies available on Disney Plus in IMAX, which should make the MCU experience even better.

What will change?

As we saw earlier this year with The Snyder cut, IMAX content is not always ideal for watching TV. IMAX content will show more vertical content, so the black bars at the top and bottom will disappear. It’s perfect for certain shots, especially in superhero movies like the ones Marvel is directing. But you might get black bars on the sides when the aspect ratio changes.

Disney is going in a slightly different direction with the Marvel movies receiving the IMAX treatment on Disney Plus. Disney and IMAX will use an extended aspect ratio, which is 1.90: 1. This means that you will get smaller black bars and the top and bottom in some scenes. This way, “more of the action is visible on screen, just as the filmmakers intended”, according to at the announcement.

Marvel movies streamed in IMAX Enhanced format on Disney Plus. Image Source: Disney

Shang-Chi and the legend of the ten rings is one of the films receiving the IMAX treatment on Disney Plus. The example above gives you an idea of ​​how the aspect ratio will change on your TV. The areas above and below the blue lines represent additional content that you will see in the IMAX Marvel movies on Disney Plus.

Which Marvel movies get IMAX support on Disney Plus?

Marvel has released 26 movies so far, and I include Eternals on the list, although it’s not yet on Disney Plus. Two of them are Spider Man films that Marvel made with Sony. They are also not available on Disney Plus. This means you can watch 23 MCU movies on Disney plus at present. And we recommend that you watch all MCU movies in the correct chronological order to get the most out of them.

By the way, if you’re new to the MCU, you’ll want to check out our guide that covers the basics of this massive ecosystem.

When it comes to Marvel films that air IMAX on Disney Plus, not all 23 releases will have IMAX stages. Some of them were shot entirely in IMAX format, like Infinity war and End of Game. Others only have a few minutes of IMAX action.

In all, you’ll find 13 Marvel movies with IMAX content on Disney Plus. Here they are in alphabetical order – not to be confused with the MCU timeline:

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp
  • Avengers: Endgame
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Black Panther
  • Black Widow
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Captain Marvel
  • Doctor strange
  • Iron Man
  • guardians of the galaxy
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Shang-Chi and the legend of the ten rings
  • Thor: Ragnarok

Other Marvel movies with IMAX content will now follow as Disney and IMAX have upgraded MCU titles. Eternals will be next, and it’s slated to launch on Disney Plus 45 days after the theatrical premiere. Also, to start on the MCU, look at this link.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.